Search results
Results from the WOW.Com Content Network
Some Brahmins—Kashmiri Pandits and Bengali Brahmins—have traditionally eaten meat (primarily seafood). However, in regions with strong Jain influence such as Rajasthan and Gujarat, or strong Jain influence in the past such as Karnataka and Tamil Nadu, Brahmins are strict vegetarians. Bal Gangadhar Tilak has described Jainism as the ...
A number of Hindus, particularly those following the Vaishnava tradition, refrain from eating onions and garlic, either totally or during the Chaturmasya period (roughly July to November of the Gregorian calendar). [39] In Maharashtra, some Hindu families do not eat any eggplant preparations during this period either. [40]
This encompasses garlic, onion, and spices such as black pepper and chili pepper, believing that pungent flavors on the tongue inflame the baser emotions. Jains not only abstain from consumption of meat, but also do not eat root vegetables (such as carrots, potatoes, radish, turnips, etc) as doing so kills the plant and they believe in ahimsa ...
Strict Madhva Brahmins avoid onion, garlic, red lentils, and even carrots, radish, brinjal and a few other vegetables and spices. They usually only eat food (prasāda) that is offered (naivedya) to one of the Vishnu deities, and fast on Vaishnava Ekadashi days (twice a month) without taking any food or water. Fruits and milk are usually allowed ...
Satvik Brahmin (sub-set of Saraswat Brahmins), which is a strictly vegetarian cuisine that does not use vegetables that grow underground, such as onions, potatoes, garlic, etc. Dishes such as Savalem raandaap are prepared among the Bhats (Priests), conservative Goud Saraswat Brahmins and Chitrapur Saraswat Brahmins.
The main complaint was that the film showed the “daughter of a Brahmin man” eating meat and saying that the revered deity Lord Ram would eat meat, he said. Shriraj Nair, a spokesperson for ...
The court says food habits in India vary from person to person and place to place. Religion too plays a vital role in making such habit. Those who follow ‘Jainism’ are vegetarian but many of them do not eat some of the vegetarian food such as potato, carrot, onion, garlic etc. which are grown below the earth. Majority of Indians treat ...
Pungent vegetables leek, garlic and onion (tamasic) are excluded, including mushrooms, as all fungi are also considered tamasic. Some consider tomatoes, peppers, and aubergines as sattvic, but most consider the Allium family (garlic, onion, leeks, shallots), as well as fungus (yeasts, molds, and mushrooms) as not sattvic. [citation needed]