enow.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results from the WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Buddhist vegetarianism - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buddhist_vegetarianism

    Mahayana lay Buddhists often eat vegetarian diets on the vegetarian dates Zhai qi (Chinese: 齋期; pinyin: Zhāi qí). There are different arrangement of the dates, from several days to three months in each year, in some traditions, the celebration of the bodhisattva Avalokiteśvara 's birthday, Bodhi Day and Great Renunciation days hold the ...

  3. Buddhist cuisine - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buddhist_cuisine

    Most of the dishes considered to be uniquely Buddhist are vegetarian, but not all Buddhist traditions require vegetarianism of lay followers or clergy. [2] Vegetarian eating is primarily associated with the East and Southeast Asian tradition in China, Vietnam, Japan, and Korea where it is commonly practiced by clergy and may be observed by laity on holidays or as a devotional practice.

  4. Meat alternative - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Meat_alternative

    Wheat gluten was known as mian jin by the Song dynasty (960–1279). Before the arrival of Buddhism, northern China was predominantly a meat-consuming culture. The vegetarian dietary laws of Buddhism led to development of meat substitutes as a replacement for the meat-based dishes that the Chinese were no longer able to consume as Buddhists.

  5. 73 Healthy Date Night Dinners That Will Make You Forget All ...

    www.aol.com/lifestyle/73-healthy-date-night...

    Vegan Ramen With Roasted Red Miso Veggies. Great ramen comes in many shapes, sizes, and flavors but is most commonly known as the rich, creamy, pork-filled version. Instead, this completely vegan ...

  6. Vegetarianism and religion - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vegetarianism_and_religion

    Most Theravadins in Sri Lanka and Southeast Asia do not practice vegetarianism. All Buddhists, including monks, are allowed to practice vegetarianism if they wish to do so. Phelps (2004:147) states that "There are no accurate statistics, but I would guess—and it is only a guess—that worldwide about half of all Buddhists are vegetarian".

  7. Buddha's delight - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buddha's_delight

    Buddha's delight, often transliterated as Luóhàn zhāi (simplified Chinese: 罗汉斋; traditional Chinese: 羅漢齋), lo han jai, or lo hon jai, is a vegetarian dish well known in Chinese and Buddhist cuisine.

  8. The Best All-You-Can-Eat Restaurant in Every State - AOL

    www.aol.com/finance/best-eat-restaurant-every...

    If you have a member of your dining party that has dietary issues like gluten free, dairy free, vegetarian or vegan, Q.Cumbers has something for everyone. Even kids who are picky eaters. Even kids ...

  9. High-Quality Multivitamins for Women Per Dietitians and Reviews

    www.aol.com/lifestyle/high-quality-multivitamins...

    These vitamins are certified vegan and gluten-free, making them a good fit for many people with dietary restrictions. They’re also third-party tested for purity and potency, with an additional ...