Search results
Results from the WOW.Com Content Network
For premium support please call: 800-290-4726 more ways to reach us
Layer cake Birthday fruit cake Raisin cake. Cake is a flour confection usually made from flour, sugar, and other ingredients and is usually baked.In their oldest forms, cakes were modifications of bread, but cakes now cover a wide range of preparations that can be simple or elaborate and which share features with desserts such as pastries, meringues, custards, and pies.
It published recipes and a "vegan trade list" of animal-free products, such as toothpastes, shoe polishes, stationery and glue. [65] Vegan books appeared, including Vegan Recipes by Fay K. Henderson (1946) [ 66 ] [ 67 ] and Aids to a Vegan Diet for Children by Kathleen V. Mayo (1948).
The origins of carrot cake is disputed. Published in 1591, there is an English recipe for "pudding in a Carret [] root" [2] that is essentially a carrot stuffed with meat, but it includes many elements common to the modern dessert: shortening, cream, eggs, raisins, sweetener (dates and sugar), spices (clove and mace), scraped carrot, and breadcrumbs (in place of flour).
In some recipes for baked goods, apple sauce can be used as a substitute for fat [11] [12] or eggs to make them low-fat or vegan. [13] [11] [12] Bavarian sweet mustard may be made with apple sauce, and is typically served with Weißwurst (similar to boudin blanc) or Leberkäse (a sort of pâté).
Get lifestyle news, with the latest style articles, fashion news, recipes, home features, videos and much more for your daily life from AOL.
James May: Oh Cook! is a cooking programme hosted by James May and released via Amazon Prime Video in 2020. The programme features May attempting to cook a variety of different dishes, with each episode focusing on a particular cuisine or meal.
Toasted vegan marshmallows served with chocolate mousse. The traditional marshmallow recipe uses powdered marshmallow root, but most commercially manufactured marshmallows instead use gelatin in their manufacture. Vegans and vegetarians avoid gelatin, but there are versions that use a substitute non-animal gelling agent such as agar. [29]