enow.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results from the WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Lacto-ovo vegetarianism - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lacto-ovo_vegetarianism

    A typical ovo-lacto vegetarian diet may include fruits, vegetables, grains, legumes, meat substitutes, nuts, seeds, soy, cheese, milk, yogurt and eggs. [3] In most Western English-speaking countries, the word "vegetarian" usually refers to this type of vegetarianism; however this is not universally the case.

  3. Ovo vegetarianism - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ovo_vegetarianism

    Ethical concerns about the consumption of eggs arise from the practice of culling male chicks shortly after birth. [5] [6] [7] Practices considered humane for chick culling include maceration and suffocation using carbon dioxide. [5] [8] One of the main differences between a vegan and an ovo-vegetarian diet is the avoidance of eggs. Vegans do ...

  4. List of diets - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_diets

    Ovo vegetarianism: A vegetarian diet that includes eggs, but excludes dairy. Ovo-lacto vegetarianism: A vegetarian diet that includes eggs and dairy. [144] Vegan diet: In addition to the abstentions of a vegetarian diet, vegans do not use any product produced by animals, such as eggs, dairy products, or honey. [142]

  5. Lacto vegetarianism - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lacto_vegetarianism

    A lacto-vegetarian (sometimes referred to as a lactarian; from the Latin root lact-, milk) diet abstains from the consumption of meat as well as eggs, while still consuming dairy products such as milk, cheese (without animal rennet i.e., from microbial sources), yogurt, butter, ghee, cream, and kefir, [1] as well as honey.

  6. What You Should Know About Those Labels On Your Eggs - AOL

    www.aol.com/know-those-labels-eggs-220700623.html

    A very trendy buzzword in food health at the moment when it comes to eggs, an organic label indicates that the hens are fed non-GMO grains free of any pesticides or antibiotics. As Rosales ...

  7. Food pyramid (nutrition) - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Food_pyramid_(nutrition)

    A vegetable is not considered a grain, fruit, nut, spice, or herb. For example, the stem , root , flower , etc., may be eaten as vegetables. Vegetables contain many vitamins and minerals ; however, different vegetables contain different balances of micronutrients, so it is important to eat a wide variety of types.

  8. Vegetarianism - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vegetarianism

    In January 1996, The International Vegetarian Union announced the formation of the Muslim Vegetarian/Vegan Society. [168] Many non-vegetarian Muslims will select vegetarian (or seafood) options when dining in non-halal restaurants. However, this is a matter of not having the right kind of meat rather than preferring not to eat meat on the whole.

  9. List of vegetables - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_vegetables

    This is a list of plants that have a culinary role as vegetables. "Vegetable" can be used in several senses, including culinary, botanical and legal. This list includes botanical fruits such as pumpkins, and does not include herbs, spices, cereals and most culinary fruits and culinary nuts. Edible fungi are not included in this list.