enow.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results from the WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Isinglass - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Isinglass

    Isinglass finings are also used in the production of kosher wines, although for reasons of kashrut, they are not derived from the beluga sturgeon, because this fish is not kosher. [9] Whether the use of a nonkosher isinglass renders a beverage nonkosher is a matter of debate in Jewish law.

  3. Muscovite - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Muscovite

    Muscovite (also known as common mica, isinglass, or potash mica [6]) is a hydrated phyllosilicate mineral of aluminium and potassium with formula KAl 2 (AlSi 3 O 10)(F,OH) 2, or 2 (Al 2 O 3) 3 (SiO 2) 6 (H 2 O). It has a highly perfect basal cleavage yielding remarkably thin laminae (sheets) which are often highly elastic.

  4. Animal product - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Animal_product

    Gelatin (used to make candy, ice cream, and marshmallows) Hard roe (as food is used as a raw or cooked ingredient in various dishes) Honey (including comb honey products) Honeydew; Isinglass (used in clarification of beer and wine) Insects (some edible insects are consumed whole or made into a powder, like cricket flour. The flours are then ...

  5. Vegetarianism and beer - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vegetarianism_and_beer

    Isinglass is the most common fining used to clear cask ale. Isinglass is produced from the swim bladders of fish, usually sturgeon, though also those in the polynemidae, sciaenidae and siluridae families; [8] as it is an animal product, cask ale cleared with isinglass is not considered vegetarian.

  6. Isinglass (disambiguation) - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Isinglass_(disambiguation)

    Isinglass is a material prepared from the air bladders of fish and used for various functions including beer making as a flocculator, to make gelatinous substances, an egg preservative and for parchment conservation. Isinglass may also refer to: Mica, a phyllosilicate mineral of aluminium and potassium. Sheet mica is sometimes used to make ...

  7. Vegetarianism and wine - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vegetarianism_and_wine

    Animal-based fining agents include gelatin, isinglass, egg white (albumen), and casein. Since the fining agent is filtered back out of the wine, the labeling of these additives is not required or regulated in most places. However, the use of animal-derived additives in wine production is a matter of ethical concern in vegetarianism and veganism ...

  8. Finings - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Finings

    They are used to remove compounds, either to improve clarity or adjust flavor or aroma. The removed compounds may be sulfides, proteins, polyphenols, benzenoids, or copper ions. Unless they form a stable sediment in the final container, the spent finings are usually discarded from the beverage along with the target compounds that they capture.

  9. Talk:Isinglass - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Talk:Isinglass

    A similar process was traditionally used for beer where small amounts of isinglass – a gelatin product made from the swim bladder of non-kosher sturgeon fish – were put into the beer to attract the haze and cause it to drop to the bottom where it can be filtered out. The use of isinglass is the subject of Nodah B’yehudah Y.D. I:26.