enow.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results from the WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Halal - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halal

    Halal (/ h ə ˈ l ɑː l /; [1] Arabic: حلال ḥalāl [ħæˈlæːl]) is an Arabic word that translates to ' permissible ' in English. In the Quran, the term halal is contrasted with the term haram (' forbidden, unlawful '). [2] It is used to refer to actions, behaviors, or items that are acceptable under the teachings of Islam.

  3. Food and drink prohibitions - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Food_and_drink_prohibitions

    Islam has similar laws, dividing foods into haram (forbidden) and halal (permitted). Jains often follow religious directives to observe vegetarianism. Some Hindus do not eat beef, and some Hindus, especially those from the Upper Castes consider vegetarianism as ideal, and practise forms of vegetarianism. [5]

  4. The Lawful and the Prohibited in Islam - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Lawful_and_the...

    The Lawful and the Prohibited in Islam is a book by Islamic scholar Yusuf al-Qaradawi, [1] [2] originally published in 1960 under the Arabic title Al-Halal Wal-Haram Fil-Islam. Some translations into English of the work include those published by: Ahl-al-bait, with annotations and commentary by Allamah Shaikh Hasan Muhammad Taqi al-Jawahiri. [1 ...

  5. Islamic dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Islamic_dietary_laws

    Halal butcher shop in Shanghai, China. In Islamic law, dhabīḥah (Arabic: ذَبِيحَة) is the prescribed method of slaughter for halal animals. It consists of a swift, deep incision to the throat with a very sharp knife, cutting the wind pipe, jugular veins and carotid arteries on both sides but leaving the spinal cord intact.

  6. Comparison of Islamic and Jewish dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_Islamic_and...

    The Islamic dietary laws and the Jewish dietary laws (kashrut; in English, kosher) are both quite detailed, and contain both points of similarity and discord.Both are the dietary laws and described in distinct religious texts: an explanation of the Islamic code of law found in the Quran and Sunnah and the Jewish code of laws found in the Torah, Talmud and Shulchan Aruch.

  7. Religious restrictions on the consumption of pork - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Religious_restrictions_on...

    Another school of thought, such as the Hanafi Madhhab, requires that the meat be certified as Halal only by ensuring Islamic slaughtering of the animals. [18] Most South Asian Muslims follow that. [citation needed] According to Sozomen, some Arabs in pre-Islamic Arabia who traced their ancestry to Ishmael abstained from the consumption of pork ...

  8. 10 Things You Don't Know About Pickles - AOL

    www.aol.com/food/10-things-you-dont-know-about...

    Pickles are really something special. Not only do they last and last but they have been celebrated throughout history as they were thought to bring beauty, health and strength.

  9. List of halal and kosher fish - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_halal_and_kosher_fish

    Shia scholars tend to teach that no other aquatic creatures are halal, with the exception of certain edible aquatic crustaceans (e.g. shrimp but not crab), [3] [4] [5] which are also Halal like scaled fish. The Ja'fari Shia Islam rules are approximately equivalent to kashrut rules. The two are generally the least inclusive: