enow.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results from the WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Food and drink prohibitions - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Food_and_drink_prohibitions

    Islam has similar laws, dividing foods into haram (forbidden) and halal (permitted). Jains often follow religious directives to observe vegetarianism. Some Hindus do not eat beef, and some Hindus, especially those from the Upper Castes consider vegetarianism as ideal, and practise forms of vegetarianism. [5]

  3. Unclean animal - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unclean_animal

    Any product of an impure or improperly slaughtered animal is also non-kosher. Animal gelatin, for example, has been avoided, although recently kosher gelatin (from cows or from fish prepared according to kosher regulations) has become available.; [7] the status of shellac is controversial.

  4. Islamic dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Islamic_dietary_laws

    Islamic jurisprudence specifies which foods are halal (Arabic: حَلَال, romanized: ḥalāl, lit. 'lawful') and which are haram (Arabic: حَرَام, romanized: ḥarām, lit. 'unlawful'). The dietary laws are found in the Quran, the holy book of Islam, as well as in collections of traditions attributed to the Islamic prophet Muhammad.

  5. Talk:Haram - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Talk:Haram

    Proposal: move to Haram. This is the normal romanization used in English-speaking regions and the first letter of the current title shows up as an empty square box. Badagnani 02:25, 26 June 2007 (UTC) Agreed. WP:UE dictates that all article titles should use the Roman alphabet. Korossyl 11:15, 28 June 2007 (UTC)

  6. Comparison of Islamic and Jewish dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_Islamic_and...

    The Islamic dietary laws and the Jewish dietary laws (kashrut; in English, kosher) are both quite detailed, and contain both points of similarity and discord.Both are the dietary laws and described in distinct religious texts: an explanation of the Islamic code of law found in the Quran and Sunnah and the Jewish code of laws found in the Torah, Talmud and Shulchan Aruch.

  7. The Lawful and the Prohibited in Islam - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Lawful_and_the...

    The Lawful and the Prohibited in Islam is a book by Islamic scholar Yusuf al-Qaradawi, [1] [2] originally published in 1960 under the Arabic title Al-Halal Wal-Haram Fil-Islam. Some translations into English of the work include those published by: Ahl-al-bait, with annotations and commentary by Allamah Shaikh Hasan Muhammad Taqi al-Jawahiri. [1]

  8. List of fatwas - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_fatwas

    In 1980, the Grand Imam of al-Azhar Gad al-Haq Ali Gad al-Haq issued a fatwa that "Listening to music, attending musical gatherings, and studying music of all genres and instruments is allowed as long as it is not accompanied with immoral and sinful acts, or used as a pretext to incite people towards haram (prohibited) behaviour, and it does ...

  9. E number - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/E_number

    A solution of E101 riboflavin (also known as vitamin B2) Crystals of E621 monosodium glutamate (MSG), a flavour enhancer. E numbers, short for Europe numbers, are codes for substances used as food additives, including those found naturally in many foods, such as vitamin C, for use within the European Union (EU) [1]: 27 and European Free Trade Association (EFTA). [2]