enow.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results from the WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Gelatin dessert - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gelatin_dessert

    As the gelatin cools, these bonds try to reform in the same structure as before, but now with small bubbles of liquid in between. This gives gelatin its semisolid, gel-like texture. [20] Because gelatin is a protein that contains both acid and base amino groups, it acts as an amphoteric molecule, displaying both acidic and basic properties.

  3. Halal - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halal

    Halal (/ h ə ˈ l ɑː l /; [1] Arabic: حلال ḥalāl [ħæˈlæːl]) is an Arabic word that translates to ' permissible ' in English. In the Quran, the term halal is contrasted with the term haram (' forbidden, unlawful '). [2] It is used to refer to actions, behaviors, or items that are acceptable under the teachings of Islam.

  4. Gulaman - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gulaman

    The term gelatine (or "jelly") and gulaman are used synonymously in the Philippines, although they are very different products. While gelatine is an animal-derived protein, gulaman is a plant-derived carbohydrate [14] made from seaweed. This distinction makes gulaman suitable for those whose dietary restrictions exclude gelatine, such as ...

  5. Comparison of Islamic and Jewish dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_Islamic_and...

    The Islamic dietary laws and the Jewish dietary laws (kashrut; in English, kosher) are both quite detailed, and contain both points of similarity and discord.Both are the dietary laws and described in distinct religious texts: an explanation of the Islamic code of law found in the Quran and Sunnah and the Jewish code of laws found in the Torah, Talmud and Shulchan Aruch.

  6. Halal certification in Australia - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halal_certification_in...

    Halal goods serve as part of the trade links between Australia and several Muslim countries, particularly Middle Eastern ones, although many non Muslim countries also form significant part of Halal products' consumer base. Halal meat and meat product exports to the Middle East and Southeast Asia have greatly

  7. Gelatin - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gelatin

    Gelatin is used as a binder in match heads [39] and sandpaper. [40] Cosmetics may contain a non-gelling variant of gelatin under the name hydrolyzed collagen (hydrolysate). Gelatin was first used as an external surface sizing for paper in 1337 and continued as a dominant sizing agent of all European papers through the mid-nineteenth century. [41]

  8. Islamic dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Islamic_dietary_laws

    Halal butcher shop in Shanghai, China. In Islamic law, dhabīḥah (Arabic: ذَبِيحَة) is the prescribed method of slaughter for halal animals. It consists of a swift, deep incision to the throat with a very sharp knife, cutting the wind pipe, jugular veins and carotid arteries on both sides but leaving the spinal cord intact.

  9. Mosaic gelatin - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mosaic_gelatin

    The gelatin is cooled for several hours to create a firm texture. [1] Nevertheless, there is wide variation in how the dish is prepared. [2] The gelatin can have either a water or a milk base. [1] The gelatin itself can be of a single flavor or multiple flavors. [1] The gelatin can have elaborate designs such as flowers, hearts, or butterflies. [1]