enow.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results from the WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Ovo vegetarianism - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ovo_vegetarianism

    Ethical concerns about the consumption of eggs arise from the practice of culling male chicks shortly after birth. [5] [6] [7] Practices considered humane for chick culling include maceration and suffocation using carbon dioxide. [5] [8] One of the main differences between a vegan and an ovo-vegetarian diet is the avoidance of eggs. Vegans do ...

  3. Lacto-ovo vegetarianism - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lacto-ovo_vegetarianism

    A typical ovo-lacto vegetarian diet may include fruits, vegetables, grains, legumes, meat substitutes, nuts, seeds, soy, cheese, milk, yogurt and eggs. [3] In most Western English-speaking countries, the word "vegetarian" usually refers to this type of vegetarianism; however this is not universally the case.

  4. Vegetarianism - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vegetarianism

    There are many variations of the vegetarian diet: an ovo-vegetarian diet includes eggs and a lacto-vegetarian diet includes dairy products, while a lacto-ovo vegetarian diet includes both. As the strictest of vegetarian diets, a vegan diet excludes all animal products , and can be accompanied by abstention from the use of animal-derived ...

  5. 6 Foods with More Vitamin D Than an Egg, According to a ... - AOL

    www.aol.com/6-foods-more-vitamin-d-194319425.html

    A ½ cup of UV-exposed mushrooms contains up to 366 IU of vitamin D, making them a great option for those following vegetarian and vegan diets. Mushrooms also provide important nutrients like ...

  6. Veganism - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Veganism

    In modern chinese the terms 纯素 (chún sù, "pure vegetarian/vegan") or 全素 (quán sù, “totally vegetarian/vegan”) are used to mean 'vegan', especially when referring to non-food vegan goods, and 纯净素 (chún jìng sù, "pure Buddhist vegetarian/vegan") is used to refer to the Buddhist diet, which is more restrictive than the ...

  7. Understanding Egg Carton Labels: What Different Seals and ...

    www.aol.com/news/understanding-egg-carton-labels...

    So, if your eggs were produced by vegetarian-fed chickens, it doesn't mean much for the quality of the final product (and it definitely doesn't speak to the treatment of the birds!)

  8. Diet in Hinduism - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diet_in_Hinduism

    A distinction traditionally exists between vegetarian and non-vegetarian castes; while Brahmins and merchant castes were usually vegetarian, dominant castes that held a monopoly on power, such as Rajputs, tended to be non-vegetarian. A vegetarian diet was considered ritually purer, whereas a non-vegetarian diet was seen as necessary for the ...

  9. What You Should Know About Those Labels On Your Eggs - AOL

    www.aol.com/know-those-labels-eggs-220700623.html

    Cage-Free. As the label implies, the hens that produce cage-free eggs, do indeed live outside of cages.However, that does not mean that they have room to roam around. "They are often kept indoors ...