enow.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results from the WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Islamic dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Islamic_dietary_laws

    Certain animals are considered haram, including land animals without blood, including all insects except locusts. Most reptiles are also considered haram, as well as most pests (hasharat al-Ardh) such as mice and rats. Differences of opinion exist as to whether the consumption of horses, mules, and donkeys is permitted.

  3. Halal - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halal

    The most common example of haram (non-halal) food is pork. While pork is the only meat that categorically may not be consumed by Muslims (the Quran forbids it, [13] Surah 2:173 and 16:115) [14] [15] other foods not in a state of purity are also considered haram. The criteria for non-pork items include their source, the cause of the animal's ...

  4. Comparison of Islamic and Jewish dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_Islamic_and...

    The Islamic dietary laws and the Jewish dietary laws (kashrut; in English, kosher) are both quite detailed, and contain both points of similarity and discord.Both are the dietary laws and described in distinct religious texts: an explanation of the Islamic code of law found in the Quran and Sunnah and the Jewish code of laws found in the Torah, Talmud and Shulchan Aruch.

  5. List of halal and kosher fish - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_halal_and_kosher_fish

    In the Hanafi school, one of the four Sunni schools, only "fish" (as opposed to all "sea game") are permissible, including eel, croaker and hagfish.. Any other sea (or water) creatures which are not fish, therefore, are also makruh tahrimi (forbidden but not as the same level as haram) whether they breathe oxygen from water through gills (such as prawns, lobsters and crabs, which are ...

  6. Religious restrictions on the consumption of pork - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Religious_restrictions_on...

    The pig is considered an unclean animal as food in Judaism and Islam, and parts of Christianity. Pork is a food taboo among several religions, including Jews, Muslims, and some Christian denominations. Swine were prohibited in ancient Syria [1] and Phoenicia, [2] and the pig and its flesh represented a taboo observed, Strabo noted, at Comana in ...

  7. Which foods are considered 'healthy?' FDA issues new label ...

    www.aol.com/news/foods-considered-healthy-fda...

    The Food and Drug Administration's new rules on "healthy" food labels are voluntary and are scheduled to take effect at the end of February. Which foods are considered 'healthy?' FDA issues new ...

  8. Haram - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Haram

    Haram (/ h ə ˈ r ɑː m, h æ ˈ-, h ɑː ˈ-,-ˈ r æ m /; [1] [2] Arabic: حَرَام ḥarām [ħɑˈrɑːm]) is an Arabic term meaning 'forbidden'. [3]: 471 This may refer to either something sacred to which access is not allowed to the people who are not in a state of purity or who are not initiated into the sacred knowledge; or, in direct contrast, to an evil and thus "sinful action ...

  9. Not all ultra-processed foods are bad for you. Here’s what ...

    www.aol.com/lifestyle/not-ultra-processed-foods...

    Despite negative associations, many foods considered healthy and essential for a balanced diet fall within processed food categories. Christine Byrne, dietitian and owner of Ruby Oak Nutrition in ...