enow.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results from the WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Halal - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halal

    The halal food and beverage industry has also made a significant impact on supermarkets and other food business such as restaurants. French supermarkets had halal food sales totalling $210 million in 2011, a 10.5% growth from five years prior. In France, the market for halal foods is even larger than the market for other types of common foods.

  3. Islamic dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Islamic_dietary_laws

    Islamic jurisprudence specifies which foods are halal (Arabic: حَلَال, romanized: ḥalāl, lit. 'lawful') and which are haram (Arabic: حَرَام, romanized: ḥarām, lit. 'unlawful'). The dietary laws are found in the Quran, the holy book of Islam, as well as in collections of traditions attributed to the Islamic prophet Muhammad.

  4. Comparison of Islamic and Jewish dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_Islamic_and...

    The Islamic dietary laws and the Jewish dietary laws (kashrut; in English, kosher) are both quite detailed, and contain both points of similarity and discord.Both are the dietary laws and described in distinct religious texts: an explanation of the Islamic code of law found in the Quran and Sunnah and the Jewish code of laws found in the Torah, Talmud and Shulchan Aruch.

  5. Food and drink prohibitions - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Food_and_drink_prohibitions

    Islam has similar laws, dividing foods into haram (forbidden) and halal (permitted). Jains often follow religious directives to observe vegetarianism. Some Hindus do not eat beef, and some Hindus, especially those from the Upper Castes consider vegetarianism as ideal, and practise forms of vegetarianism. [5]

  6. List of halal and kosher fish - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_halal_and_kosher_fish

    Any fish without scales are haram (forbidden) but fish that do have scales are permissible. [2] Shia scholars tend to teach that no other aquatic creatures are halal, with the exception of certain edible aquatic crustaceans (e.g. shrimp but not crab), [3] [4] [5] which are also Halal like scaled fish.

  7. Chinese Islamic cuisine - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chinese_Islamic_cuisine

    Chinese Islamic cuisine consists of variations of regionally popular foods that are typical of Han Chinese cuisine, in particular to make them halal.Dishes borrow ingredients from Middle Eastern, Turkic, Iranian and South Asian cuisines, notably mutton and spices.

  8. Religious restrictions on the consumption of pork - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Religious_restrictions_on...

    The pig is considered an unclean animal as food in Judaism and Islam, and parts of Christianity. Pork is a food taboo among several religions, including Jews, Muslims, and some Christian denominations. Swine were prohibited in ancient Syria [1] and Phoenicia, [2] and the pig and its flesh represented a taboo observed, Strabo noted, at Comana in ...

  9. Haram - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Haram

    Haram (/ h ə ˈ r ɑː m, h æ ˈ-, h ɑː ˈ-,-ˈ r æ m /; [1] [2] Arabic: حَرَام ḥarām [ħɑˈrɑːm]) is an Arabic term meaning 'forbidden'. [3]: 471 This may refer to either something sacred to which access is not allowed to the people who are not in a state of purity or who are not initiated into the sacred knowledge; or, in direct contrast, to an evil and thus "sinful action ...