enow.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results from the WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Religious restrictions on the consumption of pork - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Religious_restrictions_on...

    The pig is considered an unclean animal as food in Judaism and Islam, and parts of Christianity. Pork is a food taboo among several religions, including Jews, Muslims, and some Christian denominations. Swine were prohibited in ancient Syria [1] and Phoenicia, [2] and the pig and its flesh represented a taboo observed, Strabo noted, at Comana in ...

  3. Islamic dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Islamic_dietary_laws

    Islamic jurisprudence specifies which foods are halal (Arabic: حَلَال, romanized: ḥalāl, lit. 'lawful') and which are haram (Arabic: حَرَام, romanized: ḥarām, lit. 'unlawful'). The dietary laws are found in the Quran, the holy book of Islam, as well as in collections of traditions attributed to the Islamic prophet Muhammad.

  4. Animals in Islam - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Animals_in_Islam

    Pork is haram (forbidden) to eat, because its essence is considered impure, this is based on the verse of the Qur'an where it is described as being rijs (Arabic: رِجْس, impure) (Quran 6:145). Forbidden is also the meat of domesticated donkeys, mules, any predatory animal with canine teeth and birds with talons. [60]

  5. Ritual slaughter - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ritual_slaughter

    Ḏabīḥah (ذَبِيْحَة) is the practice prescribed in Islam for slaughtering all halal animals (goats, sheep, cattle, chickens, etc.), only excluding fish and most sea-life, according to Islamic law. This means that unlawful animals (pig, dog, lion, etc.) may not be slaughtered (dabihah).

  6. Unclean animal - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unclean_animal

    The pig is considered an unclean animal as food in Judaism and Islam, and parts of Christianity. In some religions , an unclean animal is an animal whose consumption or handling is taboo . According to these religions, persons who handle such animals may need to ritually purify themselves to get rid of their uncleanliness.

  7. Halal - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halal

    Halal (/ h ə ˈ l ɑː l /; [1] Arabic: حلال ḥalāl [ħæˈlæːl]) is an Arabic word that translates to ' permissible ' in English. In the Quran , the term halal is contrasted with the term haram ( ' forbidden, unlawful ' ). [ 2 ]

  8. Najis - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Najis

    According to the Shafi'i school of Sunni Islamic jurisprudence, as systematised by Al-Nawawi in his book Minhadj, the following things are najis: wine and other spirituous drinks, dogs, swine, blood, excrements, and the milk of animals whose meat is forbidden by Islam.

  9. Food and drink prohibitions - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Food_and_drink_prohibitions

    Islam has similar laws, dividing foods into haram (forbidden) and halal (permitted). Jains often follow religious directives to observe vegetarianism . Some Hindus do not eat beef, and some Hindus , especially those from the Upper Castes consider vegetarianism as ideal, and practise forms of vegetarianism. [ 5 ]