enow.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results from the WOW.Com Content Network
  2. List of barley-based drinks - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_barley-based_drinks

    The color of barley wines ranges from a translucent deep amber, to cloudy mahogany (left), to a near-opaque black (right). Barley , a member of the grass family , was one of the first domesticated grains in the Fertile Crescent and drinks made from it range from thin herbal teas and beers to thicker drinkable puddings and gruels .

  3. Malted milk - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malted_milk

    Malted milk or malt powder or malted milk powder, is a powder made from a mixture of malted barley, wheat flour, and evaporated whole milk powder. The powder is used to add its distinctive flavor to beverages and other foods, but it is also used in baking to help dough cook properly.

  4. Gluten-free diet - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gluten-free_diet

    Most countries derive key provisions of their gluten-free labelling regulations from the Codex Alimentarius international standards for food labelling as a standard relating to the labelling of products as gluten-free. It only applies to foods that would normally contain gluten. [96] Gluten-free is defined as 20 ppm (= 20 mg/kg) or less.

  5. High-maltose corn syrup - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/High-maltose_corn_syrup

    High-maltose syrups produced from corn are gluten-free, but certain syrups produced from wheat or barley may contain small amounts of gluten. [9] [10] It is unclear whether gluten occurring in a wheat- or barley-based syrup can have significant effects in celiac disease. [citation needed]

  6. Malt - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malt

    The term "malt" refers to several products of the process: the grains to which this process has been applied, for example, malted barley; the sugar, heavy in maltose, derived from such grains, such as the baker's malt used in various breakfast cereals; single malt whisky, often called simply "single malt"; or a product based on malted milk ...

  7. Gluten-free beer - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gluten-free_beer

    Gluten-free beer is beer made from ingredients that do not contain gluten, such as millet, rice, sorghum, buckwheat or corn . People who have gluten intolerance (including celiac disease and dermatitis herpetiformis sufferers) have a reaction to certain proteins in the grains commonly used to make beer, barley and wheat .

  8. Malt drink - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malt_drink

    In the United States, the term "malt beverage" may be used by trade associations of groups of beer wholesalers (e.g. Tennessee Malt Beverages Association) for the sake of a professional image by using brewing craft related terms, for political or legal reasons, or to avoid potential negative connotations that may be associated with beer in a region.

  9. Gluten-free, casein-free diet - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gluten-free,_casein-free_diet

    A gluten-free casein-free diet (GFCF diet), also known as a gluten-free dairy-free diet (GFDF diet), is a diet that does not include gluten (found most often in wheat, barley, and rye), and casein (found most often in milk and dairy products).