enow.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results from the WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Islamic dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Islamic_dietary_laws

    Islamic jurisprudence specifies which foods are halal (Arabic: حَلَال, romanized: ḥalāl, lit. 'lawful') and which are haram (Arabic: حَرَام, romanized: ḥarām, lit. 'unlawful'). The dietary laws are found in the Quran, the holy book of Islam, as well as in collections of traditions attributed to the Islamic prophet Muhammad.

  3. Food and drink prohibitions - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Food_and_drink_prohibitions

    Food taboos can help utilizing a resource, [citation needed] but when applied to only a subsection of the community, a food taboo can also lead to the monopolization of a food item by those exempted. A food taboo acknowledged by a particular group or tribe as part of their ways, aids in the cohesion of the group, helps that particular group to ...

  4. Comparison of Islamic and Jewish dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_Islamic_and...

    The kosher food fills a special niche in the food market and, despite the fact that only 10–15 percent of American Jews say they buy kosher, the niche was worth more than $12.5 billion in 2013. Industries that serve kosher products estimate that there are over 12 million kosher consumers in the United States and that around 1 in 5 Americans ...

  5. 13 Foods Banned in Other Countries (but Not Here) - AOL

    www.aol.com/13-foods-banned-other-countries...

    1. Ritz Crackers. Wouldn't ya know, a cracker that's all the rage in America is considered an outrage abroad. Ritz crackers are outlawed in several other countries, including the United Kingdom ...

  6. List of halal and kosher fish - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_halal_and_kosher_fish

    In the Hanafi school, one of the four Sunni schools, only "fish" (as opposed to all "sea game") are permissible, including eel, croaker and hagfish.. Any other sea (or water) creatures which are not fish, therefore, are also makruh tahrimi (forbidden but not as the same level as haram) whether they breathe oxygen from water through gills (such as prawns, lobsters and crabs, which are ...

  7. Category:Halal food - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Halal_food

    Pages in category "Halal food" The following 20 pages are in this category, out of 20 total. This list may not reflect recent changes. * Halal; B. Bellamy's Organic;

  8. Haram - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Haram

    Haram (/ h ə ˈ r ɑː m, h æ ˈ-, h ɑː ˈ-,-ˈ r æ m /; [1] [2] Arabic: حَرَام ḥarām [ħɑˈrɑːm]) is an Arabic term meaning 'forbidden'. [3]: 471 This may refer to either something sacred to which access is not allowed to the people who are not in a state of purity or who are not initiated into the sacred knowledge; or, in direct contrast, to an evil and thus "sinful action ...

  9. Religious restrictions on the consumption of pork - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Religious_restrictions_on...

    The pig is considered an unclean animal as food in Judaism and Islam, and parts of Christianity. Pork is a food taboo among several religions, including Jews, Muslims, and some Christian denominations. Swine were prohibited in ancient Syria [1] and Phoenicia, [2] and the pig and its flesh represented a taboo observed, Strabo noted, at Comana in ...