enow.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results from the WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Food and drink prohibitions - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Food_and_drink_prohibitions

    Islam has similar laws, dividing foods into haram (forbidden) and halal (permitted). Jains often follow religious directives to observe vegetarianism. Some Hindus do not eat beef, and some Hindus, especially those from the Upper Castes consider vegetarianism as ideal, and practise forms of vegetarianism. [5]

  3. Comparison of Islamic and Jewish dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_Islamic_and...

    The Islamic dietary laws and the Jewish dietary laws (kashrut; in English, kosher) are both quite detailed, and contain both points of similarity and discord.Both are the dietary laws and described in distinct religious texts: an explanation of the Islamic code of law found in the Quran and Sunnah and the Jewish code of laws found in the Torah, Talmud and Shulchan Aruch.

  4. Hi-Chew - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hi-Chew

    It contains gelatin ingredients derived from pork, so it is not halal, kosher, or vegetarian. [ 5 ] Hi-Chew's ingredients include glucose syrup, sugar , hydrogenated palm kernel oil , gelatin , natural and artificial flavors, strawberry juice from concentrate, DL- malic acid , citric acid , emulsifiers , sodium lactate solution, and natural ...

  5. Islamic dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Islamic_dietary_laws

    Islamic jurisprudence specifies which foods are halal (Arabic: حَلَال, romanized: ḥalāl, lit. 'lawful') and which are haram (Arabic: حَرَام, romanized: ḥarām, lit. 'unlawful'). The dietary laws are found in the Quran, the holy book of Islam, as well as in collections of traditions attributed to the Islamic prophet Muhammad.

  6. Halal - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halal

    Halal (/ h ə ˈ l ɑː l /; [1] Arabic: حلال ḥalāl [ħæˈlæːl]) is an Arabic word that translates to ' permissible ' in English. In the Quran, the term halal is contrasted with the term haram (' forbidden, unlawful '). [2] It is used to refer to actions, behaviors, or items that are acceptable under the teachings of Islam.

  7. International Numbering System for Food Additives - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/International_Numbering...

    gelatin, gelatine (not classified as an additive) carrier, emulsifier, gelling agent, stabiliser, thickener 430 ? U polyoxyethylene (8) stearate: emulsifier, stabilizer 431 E U polyoxyethylene (40) stearate: emulsifier 432 E U polysorbate 20: emulsifier 433 A E U polysorbate 80: emulsifier 434 E U polysorbate 40: emulsifier 435 A E U polysorbate 60

  8. E number - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/E_number

    A solution of E101 riboflavin (also known as vitamin B2) Crystals of E621 monosodium glutamate (MSG), a flavour enhancer. E numbers, short for Europe numbers, are codes for substances used as food additives, including those found naturally in many foods, such as vitamin C, for use within the European Union (EU) [1]: 27 and European Free Trade Association (EFTA). [2]

  9. Donkey-hide gelatin - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Donkey-hide_gelatin

    Donkey-hide gelatin or ass-hide glue (Latin: colla corii asini) is gelatin obtained from the skin of the donkey (Equus asinus) by soaking and stewing. It is used as an ingredient in the traditional medicine of China , [ 1 ] [ 2 ] where it is called ejiao ( simplified Chinese : 阿胶 ; traditional Chinese : 阿膠 ; pinyin : ējiāo ), meaning ...