Search results
Results from the WOW.Com Content Network
As the gelatin cools, these bonds try to reform in the same structure as before, but now with small bubbles of liquid in between. This gives gelatin its semisolid, gel-like texture. [20] Because gelatin is a protein that contains both acid and base amino groups, it acts as an amphoteric molecule, displaying both acidic and basic properties.
Halal (/ h ə ˈ l ɑː l /; [1] Arabic: حلال ḥalāl [ħæˈlæːl]) is an Arabic word that translates to ' permissible ' in English. In the Quran, the term halal is contrasted with the term haram (' forbidden, unlawful '). [2] It is used to refer to actions, behaviors, or items that are acceptable under the teachings of Islam.
The term gelatine (or "jelly") and gulaman are used synonymously in the Philippines, although they are very different products. While gelatine is an animal-derived protein, gulaman is a plant-derived carbohydrate [14] made from seaweed. This distinction makes gulaman suitable for those whose dietary restrictions exclude gelatine, such as ...
Guilinggao (Chinese: 龜苓膏; pinyin: Guīlínggāo), literal translated as tortoise jelly (though not technically correct) or turtle powder, is a jelly-like Chinese medicine, also sold as a dessert.
The Islamic dietary laws and the Jewish dietary laws (kashrut; in English, kosher) are both quite detailed, and contain both points of similarity and discord.Both are the dietary laws and described in distinct religious texts: an explanation of the Islamic code of law found in the Quran and Sunnah and the Jewish code of laws found in the Torah, Talmud and Shulchan Aruch.
The gelatin is cooled for several hours to create a firm texture. [1] Nevertheless, there is wide variation in how the dish is prepared. [2] The gelatin can have either a water or a milk base. [1] The gelatin itself can be of a single flavor or multiple flavors. [1] The gelatin can have elaborate designs such as flowers, hearts, or butterflies. [1]
Donkey-hide gelatin or ass-hide glue (Latin: colla corii asini) is gelatin obtained from the skin of the donkey (Equus asinus) by soaking and stewing. It is used as an ingredient in the traditional medicine of China , [ 1 ] [ 2 ] where it is called ejiao ( simplified Chinese : 阿胶 ; traditional Chinese : 阿膠 ; pinyin : ējiāo ), meaning ...
Gelatin is used as a binder in match heads [39] and sandpaper. [40] Cosmetics may contain a non-gelling variant of gelatin under the name hydrolyzed collagen (hydrolysate). Gelatin was first used as an external surface sizing for paper in 1337 and continued as a dominant sizing agent of all European papers through the mid-nineteenth century. [41]