enow.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results from the WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Chelev - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chelev

    Chelev (Hebrew: חֵלֶב, ḥēleḇ), "suet", is the animal fats that the Torah prohibits Jews and Israelites from eating. [1] Only the chelev of animals that are of the sort from which offerings can be brought in the Tabernacle or Temple are prohibited (Leviticus 7:25).

  3. Religious restrictions on the consumption of pork - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Religious_restrictions_on...

    The Torah (Pentateuch) contains passages in Leviticus that list the animals people are permitted to eat. According to Leviticus 11:3, animals like cows, sheep, and deer that have divided hooves and chew their cud may be consumed. Pigs should not be eaten because they do not chew their cud.

  4. Unclean animal - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unclean_animal

    However, the precise identity of the unclean birds is a matter of contention in traditional Jewish texts. It is therefore common to eat only birds with a clear masorah (tradition) of being kosher in at least one Jewish community, such as domestic fowl. Leviticus 11 lists the non-kosher flying creatures. [14]

  5. Kosher animals - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kosher_animals

    If a bird kills other animals to get its food, eats meat, or is a dangerous bird, then is not kosher, a predatory bird is unfit to eat, raptors like the eagles, hawks, owls and other hunting birds are not kosher, vultures and other carrion-eating birds are not kosher either.

  6. Food and drink prohibitions - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Food_and_drink_prohibitions

    Meat eating Indians also do not kill or eat monkeys. Killing and eating monkeys (or other animals which are considered wild) is both taboo and illegal in India. In Malagasy culture, lemurs are considered to have souls ( ambiroa ) which can get revenge if mocked while alive or if killed in a cruel fashion.

  7. Milk and meat in Jewish law - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Milk_and_meat_in_Jewish_law

    The mixture of meat and dairy (Hebrew: בשר בחלב, romanized: basar bechalav, lit. 'meat in milk') is forbidden according to Jewish law.This dietary law, basic to kashrut, is based on two verses in the Book of Exodus, which forbid "boiling a (goat) kid in its mother's milk" [1] and a third repetition of this prohibition in Deuteronomy.

  8. Kedoshim - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kedoshim

    Rabbi Eleazar ben Azariah taught that people should not say that they do not want to wear a wool-linen mixture (שַׁעַטְנֵז ‎, shatnez, prohibited by Leviticus 19:19 and Deuteronomy 22:11), eat pork (prohibited by Leviticus 11:7 and Deuteronomy 14:7–8), or be intimate with forbidden partners (prohibited by Leviticus 18 and 20), but ...

  9. 613 commandments - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/613_commandments

    Not to eat meat of an animal that was mortally wounded — Ex. 22:30; Not to eat a limb torn off a living creature — Deut. 12:23; Not to eat blood —Lev. 3:17; Not to eat certain fats of clean animals — Lev. 3:17; Not to eat the sinew of the thigh — Gen. 32:33; Not to eat mixtures of milk and meat cooked together — Ex. 23:19