Search results
Results from the WOW.Com Content Network
Isinglass finings are also used in the production of kosher wines, although for reasons of kashrut, they are not derived from the beluga sturgeon, because this fish is not kosher. [9] Whether the use of a nonkosher isinglass renders a beverage nonkosher is a matter of debate in Jewish law.
Animal-based fining agents include gelatin, isinglass, egg white (albumen), and casein. Since the fining agent is filtered back out of the wine, the labeling of these additives is not required or regulated in most places. However, the use of animal-derived additives in wine production is a matter of ethical concern in vegetarianism and veganism ...
Finings are substances that are usually added at or near the completion of the processing of making wine, beer, and various nonalcoholic juice beverages. They are used to remove compounds, either to improve clarity or adjust flavor or aroma. The removed compounds may be sulfides, proteins, polyphenols, benzenoids, or copper ions.
After roasting, the corn would then be coarsely ground and put inside a large, earthenware crock, where 4 gallons of water were added. To this, 8 pre-packaged cones of piloncillo (whole cane sugar) were added, along with 6 cinnamon sticks and 3 orange peels for flavoring. The brew was allowed to sit 4 or 5 days, in places where the weather was ...
Cooking wines have a bad reputation, but is it deserved? Skipping the cooking wine in a recipe might mean losing a valuable flavor component. The post What Is Cooking Wine? appeared first on Taste ...
The year in which a particular wine's grapes were harvested. When a vintage year is indicated on a label, it signifies that all the grapes used to make the wine in the bottle were harvested in that year. Viticulture The cultivation of grapes. Not to be confused with viniculture. Vitis labrusca A breed of grapes native to North America. Vitis ...
Cooking with wine can be totally confusing. “Unless you’re making a sweet dish, choose a low-alcohol wine with some acidity that’s fresh with a little fruit on the nose.”
A similar process was traditionally used for beer where small amounts of isinglass – a gelatin product made from the swim bladder of non-kosher sturgeon fish – were put into the beer to attract the haze and cause it to drop to the bottom where it can be filtered out. The use of isinglass is the subject of Nodah B’yehudah Y.D. I:26.