enow.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results from the WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Isinglass - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Isinglass

    Isinglass finings are also used in the production of kosher wines, although for reasons of kashrut, they are not derived from the beluga sturgeon, because this fish is not kosher. [9] Whether the use of a nonkosher isinglass renders a beverage nonkosher is a matter of debate in Jewish law.

  3. Glossary of winemaking terms - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glossary_of_winemaking_terms

    While a small amount stays presence in the wine as carbonic acid, most of the gas will rise to the surface of the fermentation vessel and attempt to escape into the air. If the fermentation vessel is closed (such as a sealed wine bottle used to make sparkling wine), the gas will dissolve into the wine and when released will make the wine sparkling.

  4. Vinegar - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vinegar

    Wine vinegar is made from red or white wine, and is the most commonly used vinegar in Southern and Central Europe, Cyprus, and Israel. As with wine, the range in quality is considerable. Better-quality wine vinegars are matured in wood for up to two years, and exhibit a complex, mellow flavor.

  5. Can You Use Cleaning Vinegar for Cooking? - AOL

    www.aol.com/lifestyle/cleaning-vinegar-cooking...

    During a fermentation process, the sugar and starches in the alcohol are converted into acetic acid, which is responsible for vinegar’s sour taste. Distilled white vinegar is typically about 5% ...

  6. Finings - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Finings

    Finings are substances that are usually added at or near the completion of the processing of making wine, beer, and various nonalcoholic juice beverages. They are used to remove compounds, either to improve clarity or adjust flavor or aroma. The removed compounds may be sulfides, proteins, polyphenols, benzenoids, or copper ions.

  7. Vegetarianism and wine - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vegetarianism_and_wine

    Gelatin is made from the boiling of animal parts. Wine specifically responds best to type A gelatin, which is derived from the boiling of pig's skin. [1] It takes only one ounce of gelatin to clarify 1,000 gallons of wine. Gelatin is used in both white and red wines to fix haze/color and to adjust the flavor or bitterness of the wine. [3]

  8. Gelatin - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gelatin

    Gelatin is used for the clarification of juices, such as apple juice, and of vinegar. [35] Isinglass is obtained from the swim bladders of fish. It is used as a fining agent for wine and beer. [36] Besides hartshorn jelly, from deer antlers (hence the name "hartshorn"), isinglass was one of the oldest sources of gelatin.

  9. Cooking with wine can be totally confusing. “Unless you’re making a sweet dish, choose a low-alcohol wine with some acidity that’s fresh with a little fruit on the nose.”