enow.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results from the WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Milk and meat in Jewish law - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Milk_and_meat_in_Jewish_law

    The mixture of meat and dairy (Hebrew: בשר בחלב, romanized: basar bechalav, lit. 'meat in milk') is forbidden according to Jewish law.This dietary law, basic to kashrut, is based on two verses in the Book of Exodus, which forbid "boiling a (goat) kid in its mother's milk" [1] and a third repetition of this prohibition in Deuteronomy.

  3. Christian dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christian_dietary_laws

    The general dietary restrictions specified for Christians in the New Testament are to "abstain from food sacrificed to idols, from blood, from meat of strangled animals". [ 1 ] [ 2 ] Some Christian denominations forbid certain foods during periods of fasting , which in some cases may cover half the year and may exclude meat, fish, dairy ...

  4. Manna - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manna

    Until they reached Canaan, the Israelites are implied by some passages in the Bible to have eaten only manna during their desert sojourn, [32] despite the availability of milk and meat from the livestock with which they traveled, and the references to provisions of fine flour, oil, and meat, in parts of the journey's narrative. [14]

  5. Ancient Israelite cuisine - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ancient_Israelite_cuisine

    Dairy products are mentioned in the Bible (for example, Genesis 18:8, Judges 4:19, and 2 Samuel 17:29, and a repeated description of the Land of Israel in the Bible is "a land flowing with milk and honey" (for example, Exodus 3:8, Exodus 33:3, and Joel 4:18)). [80] [81] Fresh milk could not be stored for long without spoiling.

  6. Unclean animal - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unclean_animal

    Finally, it is forbidden to cook the meat of an animal in the milk or dairy product of that same animal, which has in turn led to the traditional practice of using separate complete sets of kitchen utensils for meat and dairy so as to totally ensure this rule is not broken.

  7. Fasting and abstinence in the Catholic Church - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fasting_and_abstinence_in...

    Fish and other designated seafood are traditionally eaten by Catholics on Fridays due to the prohibition on eating meat on that day. Contemporary practice varies by country and area. The Catholic Church historically observes the disciplines of fasting and abstinence (from meat) at various times each year. For Catholics, fasting is the reduction ...

  8. Daniel Fast - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daniel_Fast

    The Daniel Fast, in Christianity, is a partial fast, in which meat, dairy, alcohol, and other rich foods are avoided in favor of vegetables and water in order to be more sensitive to God. [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] The fast is based on the lifelong kosher diet of the Jewish prophet Daniel in the biblical Book of Daniel and the three-week mourning fast ...

  9. Comparison of Islamic and Jewish dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_Islamic_and...

    The Islamic dietary laws and the Jewish dietary laws (kashrut; in English, kosher) are both quite detailed, and contain both points of similarity and discord.Both are the dietary laws and described in distinct religious texts: an explanation of the Islamic code of law found in the Quran and Sunnah and the Jewish code of laws found in the Torah, Talmud and Shulchan Aruch.