enow.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results from the WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Food and drink prohibitions - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Food_and_drink_prohibitions

    Islam has similar laws, dividing foods into haram (forbidden) and halal (permitted). Jains often follow religious directives to observe vegetarianism. Some Hindus do not eat beef, and some Hindus, especially those from the Upper Castes consider vegetarianism as ideal, and practise forms of vegetarianism. [5]

  3. Unclean animal - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unclean_animal

    Any product of an impure or improperly slaughtered animal is also non-kosher. Animal gelatin, for example, has been avoided, although recently kosher gelatin (from cows or from fish prepared according to kosher regulations) has become available.; [7] the status of shellac is controversial.

  4. Islamic dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Islamic_dietary_laws

    Islamic jurisprudence specifies which foods are halal (Arabic: حَلَال, romanized: ḥalāl, lit. 'lawful') and which are haram (Arabic: حَرَام, romanized: ḥarām, lit. 'unlawful'). The dietary laws are found in the Quran, the holy book of Islam, as well as in collections of traditions attributed to the Islamic prophet Muhammad.

  5. Comparison of Islamic and Jewish dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_Islamic_and...

    The Islamic dietary laws and the Jewish dietary laws (kashrut; in English, kosher) are both quite detailed, and contain both points of similarity and discord.Both are the dietary laws and described in distinct religious texts: an explanation of the Islamic code of law found in the Quran and Sunnah and the Jewish code of laws found in the Torah, Talmud and Shulchan Aruch.

  6. The Lawful and the Prohibited in Islam - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Lawful_and_the...

    The Lawful and the Prohibited in Islam is a book by Islamic scholar Yusuf al-Qaradawi, [1] [2] originally published in 1960 under the Arabic title Al-Halal Wal-Haram Fil-Islam. Some translations into English of the work include those published by: Ahl-al-bait, with annotations and commentary by Allamah Shaikh Hasan Muhammad Taqi al-Jawahiri. [1]

  7. Donkey-hide gelatin - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Donkey-hide_gelatin

    Donkey-hide gelatin or ass-hide glue (Latin: colla corii asini) is gelatin obtained from the skin of the donkey (Equus asinus) by soaking and stewing. It is used as an ingredient in the traditional medicine of China , [ 1 ] [ 2 ] where it is called ejiao ( simplified Chinese : 阿胶 ; traditional Chinese : 阿膠 ; pinyin : ējiāo ), meaning ...

  8. Halal - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halal

    Halal (/ h ə ˈ l ɑː l /; [1] Arabic: حلال ḥalāl [ħæˈlæːl]) is an Arabic word that translates to ' permissible ' in English. In the Quran, the term halal is contrasted with the term haram (' forbidden, unlawful '). [2] It is used to refer to actions, behaviors, or items that are acceptable under the teachings of Islam.

  9. Muslim Consumer Group - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Muslim_Consumer_Group

    The Muslim Consumer Group (MCG) is a U.S. non-profit organization founded in November 1993 by Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed, based in Rolling Meadows, Illinois.Its goal was to educate Muslims about Halal foods and perform Halal certification, which was not done by any other organization in the United States at that time.