enow.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results from the WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Lacto-ovo vegetarianism - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lacto-ovo_vegetarianism

    A typical ovo-lacto vegetarian diet may include fruits, vegetables, grains, legumes, meat substitutes, nuts, seeds, soy, cheese, milk, yogurt and eggs. [3] In most Western English-speaking countries, the word "vegetarian" usually refers to this type of vegetarianism; however this is not universally the case.

  3. List of diets - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_diets

    Ovo vegetarianism: A vegetarian diet that includes eggs, but excludes dairy. Ovo-lacto vegetarianism: A vegetarian diet that includes eggs and dairy. [144] Vegan diet: In addition to the abstentions of a vegetarian diet, vegans do not use any product produced by animals, such as eggs, dairy products, or honey. [142]

  4. Ovo vegetarianism - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ovo_vegetarianism

    Ethical concerns about the consumption of eggs arise from the practice of culling male chicks shortly after birth. [5] [6] [7] Practices considered humane for chick culling include maceration and suffocation using carbon dioxide. [5] [8] One of the main differences between a vegan and an ovo-vegetarian diet is the avoidance of eggs. Vegans do ...

  5. Food pyramid (nutrition) - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Food_pyramid_(nutrition)

    A vegetable is not considered a grain, fruit, nut, spice, or herb. For example, the stem , root , flower , etc., may be eaten as vegetables. Vegetables contain many vitamins and minerals ; however, different vegetables contain different balances of micronutrients, so it is important to eat a wide variety of types.

  6. Non-vegetarian food in India - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Non-vegetarian_food_in_India

    Education appears to decide the choice of vegetarian/non-vegetarian foods. Those who have studied up to five years eat the highest amount of eggs and meat; men (54% and 58%) and women (48% and 52%). [7] Among religions, Christians consume eggs and meat the most; men 71.5% and 76% and women 65% and 74%, respectively.

  7. What You Should Know About Those Labels On Your Eggs - AOL

    www.aol.com/know-those-labels-eggs-220700623.html

    A very trendy buzzword in food health at the moment when it comes to eggs, an organic label indicates that the hens are fed non-GMO grains free of any pesticides or antibiotics. As Rosales ...

  8. List of meat substitutes - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_meat_substitutes

    Textured vegetable protein – a defatted soy flour product that is a by-product of extracting soybean oil. [7] It is often used as a meat analogue or meat extender. It is quick to cook, with a protein content that is comparable to certain meats. [8] Ganmodoki – a traditional Japanese tofu based dish similar to veggie burgers

  9. Vegetarianism - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vegetarianism

    In January 1996, The International Vegetarian Union announced the formation of the Muslim Vegetarian/Vegan Society. [168] Many non-vegetarian Muslims will select vegetarian (or seafood) options when dining in non-halal restaurants. However, this is a matter of not having the right kind of meat rather than preferring not to eat meat on the whole.