enow.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results from the WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Religious restrictions on the consumption of pork - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Religious_restrictions_on...

    The pig is considered an unclean animal as food in Judaism and Islam, and parts of Christianity. Pork is a food taboo among several religions, including Jews, Muslims, and some Christian denominations. Swine were prohibited in ancient Syria [1] and Phoenicia, [2] and the pig and its flesh represented a taboo observed, Strabo noted, at Comana in ...

  3. Unclean animal - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unclean_animal

    The pig is considered an unclean animal as food in Judaism and Islam, and parts of Christianity. In some religions , an unclean animal is an animal whose consumption or handling is taboo . According to these religions, persons who handle such animals may need to ritually purify themselves to get rid of their uncleanliness.

  4. Animals in Islam - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Animals_in_Islam

    Pork is haram (forbidden) to eat, because its essence is considered impure, this is based on the verse of the Qur'an where it is described as being rijs (Arabic: رِجْس, impure) (Quran 6:145). Forbidden ( haram ) is also the meat of domesticated donkeys, mules, any predatory animal with canine teeth and birds with talons.

  5. Comparison of Islamic and Jewish dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_Islamic_and...

    The Islamic dietary laws and the Jewish dietary laws (kashrut; in English, kosher) are both quite detailed, and contain both points of similarity and discord.Both are the dietary laws and described in distinct religious texts: an explanation of the Islamic code of law found in the Quran and Sunnah and the Jewish code of laws found in the Torah, Talmud and Shulchan Aruch.

  6. Islamic dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Islamic_dietary_laws

    Islamic jurisprudence specifies which foods are halal (Arabic: حَلَال, romanized: ḥalāl, lit. 'lawful') and which are haram (Arabic: حَرَام, romanized: ḥarām, lit. 'unlawful'). The dietary laws are found in the Quran, the holy book of Islam, as well as in collections of traditions attributed to the Islamic prophet Muhammad.

  7. Najis - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Najis

    According to the Shafi'i school of Sunni Islamic jurisprudence, as systematised by Al-Nawawi in his book Minhadj, the following things are najis: wine and other spirituous drinks, dogs, swine, blood, excrements, and the milk of animals whose meat is forbidden by Islam.

  8. Muslim In America - The Huffington Post

    projects.huffingtonpost.com/muslim-in-america

    The diversity of Muslims in the United States is vast, and so is the breadth of the Muslim American experience. Relaying short anecdotes representative of their everyday lives, nine Muslim Americans demonstrate both the adversities and blessings of Muslim American life.

  9. Food and drink prohibitions - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Food_and_drink_prohibitions

    While pork alternatives (for example, by Impossible Foods) do not contain actual pork meat, some conservative religious groups, such as in Islam or Judaism regard it as forbidden, similar to its meat-based counterpart as it is the said haram or non-kosher product the pork alternative is trying to mimic and present. In addition, stricter rabbi ...