enow.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results from the WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Lacto-ovo vegetarianism - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lacto-ovo_vegetarianism

    A typical ovo-lacto vegetarian diet may include fruits, vegetables, grains, legumes, meat substitutes, nuts, seeds, soy, cheese, milk, yogurt and eggs. [ 3 ] In most Western English-speaking countries, the word "vegetarian" usually refers to this type of vegetarianism; however this is not universally the case.

  3. Lacto vegetarianism - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lacto_vegetarianism

    In India, lacto vegetarian is considered synonymous to vegetarian, while eggs are considered a meat product. [30] However, in other parts of the world, vegetarianism generally refers to ovo lacto vegetarianism instead, allowing eggs into the diet. [31] Many Hindu wrestlers are strict lacto-vegetarians and follow a Sattvic diet. A large part of ...

  4. Vegetarianism by country - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vegetarianism_by_country

    In some cities' schools in Finland, the students are offered two options, a vegetarian and a non-vegetarian meal, on four school days a week, and one day a week they have a choice between two vegetarian meals, for grades 1 to 12. In secondary schools and universities, from 10 to 40 percent of the students preferred vegetarian food in 2013.

  5. What You Should Know About Those Labels On Your Eggs - AOL

    www.aol.com/know-those-labels-eggs-220700623.html

    Vegetarian-Fed. According to Simpson, vegetarian-fed means that no animal by-products went into the hens' feed, though, she points out, "Some hens might still naturally eat insects here and there ...

  6. Diet in Hinduism - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diet_in_Hinduism

    A significant portion of Hindus are non-vegetarians, [43] although even those who identify as non-vegetarian eat very little meat. India has significantly lower meat consumption than other regions of the world. [44] Non-vegetarian Indians mostly prefer poultry, fish, other seafood, goat, and sheep as their sources of meat. [45]

  7. Ovo vegetarianism - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ovo_vegetarianism

    Ethical concerns about the consumption of eggs arise from the practice of culling male chicks shortly after birth. [5] [6] [7] Practices considered humane for chick culling include maceration and suffocation using carbon dioxide. [5] [8] One of the main differences between a vegan and an ovo-vegetarian diet is the avoidance of eggs. Vegans do ...

  8. Veganism - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Veganism

    In modern chinese the terms 纯素 (chún sù, "pure vegetarian/vegan") or 全素 (quán sù, “totally vegetarian/vegan”) are used to mean 'vegan', especially when referring to non-food vegan goods, and 纯净素 (chún jìng sù, "pure Buddhist vegetarian/vegan") is used to refer to the Buddhist diet, which is more restrictive than the ...

  9. Understanding Egg Carton Labels: What Different Seals and ...

    www.aol.com/news/understanding-egg-carton-labels...

    So, if your eggs were produced by vegetarian-fed chickens, it doesn't mean much for the quality of the final product (and it definitely doesn't speak to the treatment of the birds!)