Search results
Results from the WOW.Com Content Network
The orthodox tradition of separating meat and vegetables and as well between specific meals for fasting and other holidays contributed to a rich variety of vegetarian dishes [6] in Russia and Slavic countries, such as soups (vegetable borscht, shchi, okroshka), pirogi, blini, vareniki, kasha, buckwheat, fermented and pickled vegetables, etc.
A typical ovo-lacto vegetarian diet may include fruits, vegetables, grains, legumes, meat substitutes, nuts, seeds, soy, cheese, milk, yogurt and eggs. [3] In most Western English-speaking countries, the word "vegetarian" usually refers to this type of vegetarianism; however this is not universally the case.
A lacto-vegetarian (sometimes referred to as a lactarian; from the Latin root lact-, milk) diet abstains from the consumption of meat as well as eggs, while still consuming dairy products such as milk, cheese (without animal rennet i.e., from microbial sources), yogurt, butter, ghee, cream, and kefir, [1] as well as honey.
Turkey stock and meat, vegetables (typically onions, carrots, celery), broad egg noodles or rice Ukha or yushka: Russia Ukraine: Fish Various types of fish, vegetables, lime, dill, parsley, and black pepper Vegetable soup: Clear or Stock Vegetables are a primary ingredient Vichyssoise: France: Cold (chilled) Creamy potato and leek soup, served ...
Ethical concerns about the consumption of eggs arise from the practice of culling male chicks shortly after birth. [5] [6] [7] Practices considered humane for chick culling include maceration and suffocation using carbon dioxide. [5] [8] One of the main differences between a vegan and an ovo-vegetarian diet is the avoidance of eggs. Vegans do ...
In January 1996, The International Vegetarian Union announced the formation of the Muslim Vegetarian/Vegan Society. [168] Many non-vegetarian Muslims will select vegetarian (or seafood) options when dining in non-halal restaurants. However, this is a matter of not having the right kind of meat rather than preferring not to eat meat on the whole.
In fact, they say that “all foods made from meat, poultry, seafood, beans and peas, eggs, processed soy products, nuts, and seeds are considered part of the protein foods group.”
Because of this, eyerlekh was traditionally served with meat meals rather than dairy meals. [2] According to the Shulchan Aruch (Yoreh De'ah 87:5), unlaid eggs are pareve only if fully formed, while unlaid eggs that are not fully formed are considered meat and may not be consumed with dairy products. However, dairy products can be consumed ...