enow.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results from the WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Food and drink prohibitions - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Food_and_drink_prohibitions

    Islam has similar laws, dividing foods into haram (forbidden) and halal (permitted). Jains often follow religious directives to observe vegetarianism. Some Hindus do not eat beef, and some Hindus, especially those from the Upper Castes consider vegetarianism as ideal, and practise forms of vegetarianism. [5]

  3. Islamic dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Islamic_dietary_laws

    Islamic jurisprudence specifies which foods are halal (Arabic: حَلَال, romanized: ḥalāl, lit. 'lawful') and which are haram (Arabic: حَرَام, romanized: ḥarām, lit. 'unlawful'). The dietary laws are found in the Quran, the holy book of Islam, as well as in collections of traditions attributed to the Islamic prophet Muhammad.

  4. Unclean animal - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unclean_animal

    Any product of an impure or improperly slaughtered animal is also non-kosher. Animal gelatin, for example, has been avoided, although recently kosher gelatin (from cows or from fish prepared according to kosher regulations) has become available.; [7] the status of shellac is controversial.

  5. Comparison of Islamic and Jewish dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_Islamic_and...

    The Islamic dietary laws and the Jewish dietary laws (kashrut; in English, kosher) are both quite detailed, and contain both points of similarity and discord.Both are the dietary laws and described in distinct religious texts: an explanation of the Islamic code of law found in the Quran and Sunnah and the Jewish code of laws found in the Torah, Talmud and Shulchan Aruch.

  6. Talk:Haram - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Talk:Haram

    Proposal: move to Haram. This is the normal romanization used in English-speaking regions and the first letter of the current title shows up as an empty square box. Badagnani 02:25, 26 June 2007 (UTC) Agreed. WP:UE dictates that all article titles should use the Roman alphabet. Korossyl 11:15, 28 June 2007 (UTC)

  7. Hi-Chew - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hi-Chew

    It contains gelatin ingredients derived from pork, so it is not halal, kosher, or vegetarian. [ 5 ] Hi-Chew's ingredients include glucose syrup, sugar , hydrogenated palm kernel oil , gelatin , natural and artificial flavors, strawberry juice from concentrate, DL- malic acid , citric acid , emulsifiers , sodium lactate solution, and natural ...

  8. Gelatin - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gelatin

    Gelatin is used as a binder in match heads [39] and sandpaper. [40] Cosmetics may contain a non-gelling variant of gelatin under the name hydrolyzed collagen (hydrolysate). Gelatin was first used as an external surface sizing for paper in 1337 and continued as a dominant sizing agent of all European papers through the mid-nineteenth century. [41]

  9. Halal - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halal

    Halal (/ h ə ˈ l ɑː l /; [1] Arabic: حلال ḥalāl [ħæˈlæːl]) is an Arabic word that translates to ' permissible ' in English. In the Quran, the term halal is contrasted with the term haram (' forbidden, unlawful '). [2] It is used to refer to actions, behaviors, or items that are acceptable under the teachings of Islam.