enow.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results from the WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Islamic dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Islamic_dietary_laws

    Islamic dietary laws are laws that Muslims follow in their diet. Islamic jurisprudence specifies which foods are halal (Arabic: حَلَال, romanized: ḥalāl, lit. 'lawful') and which are haram (Arabic: حَرَام, romanized: ḥarām, lit. 'unlawful').

  3. Halal - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halal

    The most common example of haram (non-halal) food is pork. While pork is the only meat that categorically may not be consumed by Muslims (the Quran forbids it, [13] Surah 2:173 and 16:115) [14] [15] other foods not in a state of purity are also considered haram. The criteria for non-pork items include their source, the cause of the animal's ...

  4. Religious restrictions on the consumption of pork - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Religious_restrictions_on...

    The pig is considered an unclean animal as food in Judaism and Islam, and parts of Christianity. Pork is a food taboo among several religions, including Jews, Muslims, and some Christian denominations. Swine were prohibited in ancient Syria [1] and Phoenicia, [2] and the pig and its flesh represented a taboo observed, Strabo noted, at Comana in ...

  5. List of halal and kosher fish - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_halal_and_kosher_fish

    In the Hanafi school, one of the four Sunni schools, only "fish" (as opposed to all "sea game") are permissible, including eel, croaker and hagfish.. Any other sea (or water) creatures which are not fish, therefore, are also makruh tahrimi (forbidden but not as the same level as haram) whether they breathe oxygen from water through gills (such as prawns, lobsters and crabs, which are ...

  6. Comparison of Islamic and Jewish dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_Islamic_and...

    The Islamic dietary laws and the Jewish dietary laws (kashrut; in English, kosher) are both quite detailed, and contain both points of similarity and discord.Both are the dietary laws and described in distinct religious texts: an explanation of the Islamic code of law found in the Quran and Sunnah and the Jewish code of laws found in the Torah, Talmud and Shulchan Aruch.

  7. Food and drink prohibitions - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Food_and_drink_prohibitions

    Islam has similar laws, dividing foods into haram (forbidden) and halal (permitted). Jains often follow religious directives to observe vegetarianism. Some Hindus do not eat beef, and some Hindus, especially those from the Upper Castes consider vegetarianism as ideal, and practise forms of vegetarianism. [5]

  8. Animals in Islam - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Animals_in_Islam

    Pork is haram (forbidden) to eat, because its essence is considered impure, this is based on the verse of the Qur'an where it is described as being rijs (Arabic: رِجْس, impure) (Quran 6:145). Forbidden is also the meat of domesticated donkeys, mules, any predatory animal with canine teeth and birds with talons. [60]

  9. Haram - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Haram

    Haram (/ h ə ˈ r ɑː m, h æ ˈ-, h ɑː ˈ-,-ˈ r æ m /; [1] [2] Arabic: حَرَام ḥarām [ħɑˈrɑːm]) is an Arabic term meaning 'forbidden'. [3]: 471 This may refer to either something sacred to which access is not allowed to the people who are not in a state of purity or who are not initiated into the sacred knowledge; or, in direct contrast, to an evil and thus "sinful action ...